horse racing betting

2000 Guineas Stakes

When it comes to Group 1 horse races in the UK there are dozens of them held throughout the flat season, and one that does get a lot of attention from punters is of course the 2000 Guineas Stakes.

It is in April or May that race is held each year and it is run over at Newmarket racecourse. As for the distance of the 2000 Guineas Stakes it is a one mile flat race which is open to 3 year old colts and fillies and over the years there have been plenty of shock results in that race.

However, when it comes to getting the best value punters are always going to be betting early on that race and will be making use of the ante post betting markets that all betting sites are going to be offering their customers.

The most common bets placed on ante post betting markets for the 2000 Guineas Stakes are an outright winner bet or an each-way bet, but when placing the latter punters should always be mindful that different betting site are going to be paying out a different percentage of the win odds on the place element of such a bet and will also often pay out to a different number of places too.

Past Winners of the 2000 Guineas Stakes

It was back in 1806 that this race was run for the very first time, and over the years as mentioned up above there have been some huge priced outsiders that have won it

The most recent winner s however include the 2014 winner that being Night of Thunder ridden by Kieren Fallon and the following year in 2015 it was Gleneagles ridden by Ryan Moore that won.

Moving onto 2016, Galileo Gold ridden by everybody’s favourite jockey Frankie Dettori that took the prize money and then in 2017 Churchill ridden by Ryan Moore and trained by Aidan O’Brien won.

As for the winner in 2018 that was the year that Saxon Warrior won the 2000 Guineas Stake ridden by Donnacha O’Brien and once again the winner was trained by Aidan O’Brien.

2000 Guineas Stakes Facts and Figures

As this race is steeped in history and has of course been around for some many years, there are plenty of facts and figures I can pass onto you.

One jockey that did have a solid track record of winning this race was Jem Robinson back in the 1800’s who managed to win it 9 times in total and no other jockey has beaten that record, yet!

As for the trainer that has trained the most winning horses in this race, well that honour goes to Aidan O’Brien who has won it in total nine times.

The fastest ever recorded winning time for the 2000 Guineas Stakes was back in 1994 when Mister Baileys won with a time of 1 minute and 35.08 seconds. The highest priced winner of this race was 66/1 and in 1947 the horse that won with the widest winning margin was Tudor Minstrel who stormed home winning by some 8 lengths in total.