Ascot Gold Cup

Group 1 horse races do not come much more exciting than the annual Ascot Gold Cup race, and fortunes are wagered by punters on that race each year, and that is a fact that hasn’t gone unnoticed by bookies across the land.

As such what you as a punter are always going to find is plenty of unique promotional offers being offered to you on hat race by betting sites and sportsbooks, each of which will be very eager for you o bet with them.

The race is of course held over at the Ascot racecourse and being a race that is run over a long distance, that being some 2 miles, 3 furlongs and 210 yards it is a very challenging race for both horse and jockey too.

It is during the month of June each year that the Gold Cup race will be run and it is a race that does attract the cream of the horses aged four years and over, and of course there are plenty of top jockeys that want to win it too, and over the years it is a race that has seen well backed favourites win it and the occasional outsider winning it too.

Past Winners of the Prince of Wales’s Stakes

There have of course be numerous winnings of the Ascot Gold Cup over the years and some of the much more recent winners of that race include the 2014 winner Leading Light who was ridden by Joseph O’Brien, and in 2015 it was Trip To Paris ridden by Graham Lee that came out on top and then in 2016 Order of St George won and that horse was ridden by Ryan Moore that day.

In 2017 it was the horse called Big Orange that won this race and the winning jockey was James Doyle and then in 2018 it was Stradivarius ridden by Frankie Dettori, trained by John Gosden and owned by Bjorn Nielsen that one with a recorded time of 4:21.08.

Prince of Wales’s Stakes Facts and Figures

A few more stats and facts about the Ascot Gold Cup include the fact that there has been just one horse that has won this race a total of four times and that horses way Yeats who won it in consecutive years from and include 2006 until and including 2009.

The one jockey that has won this race the most times was Lester Piggott who won it an amazing eleven times over the years, the leading trainer in the Ascot Gold Cup is Aidan O’Brien and in total horses he has trained and entered into the Gold Cu[p have won a total of 7 races.

There is also one owner that has an excellent record at this racecourse and probably due to the fact that owner owned Yeats the horse mention up above, and the owner is Sue Magnier whose horses she owns have gone on to win this race in total seven times, which is good going considering just how hard a race it is to win!