Betting on the July Cup

You can often get an idea of when some Group One races in the UK are being held by the name of those races, and that is certainly the case with the annual July Cup race for it is in summer and in the month of July of course that race is held.

It is a 6 furlong race run over at the Newmarket racecourse and it is open to horses that are three years in age and over. This is actually another race that has been around for many years and that means there are lots of stats available about it.

Now, what you should be doing if you have an idea of just which horse you think has the form to win such a race is backing that horse as early as you can do and that will mean that you are going to have to make use of the ante post betting markets.

Bookies will open such a betting market often months in advance of the day of the race, in fact often on the day the race has been run and the result is known, many bookies will then offer odds for the next running of that race a year in advance!

Past Winners of the July Cup

The July Cup was first run in 1876 and therefore there has been plenty of winners of this race over the year, but below you will find the five most recent horses and their respective jockeys that have won it.

In 2014 the winning horses was Slade Power ridden by Wayne Lordan and trained by Edward Lynam then in 2015 the winner of this race was Muhaarar who that day was ridden by Paul Hanagan that horse was for the record owned by Hamdan Al Maktoum.

In 2016 it was Limato that won and Harry Bentley was the jockey that day and then moving onto the 2017 running of this race it was Harry Angel that won and the jockey was Adam Kirby and the trainer was Clive Cox and finally in 2018 it was U S Navy Flag ridden by Ryan Moore and trained by Aidan O’Brien that win with a time of 1:11:32!

July Cup Facts and Figures

Only one horse has won the July Cup three times, and that horse was Sundridge who won it in the years 1902, 1903 and 1904.

One jockey that has featured lots of times as the leading jockey in a great many Group One races over the years is Lester Piggott and he won this race a total of ten times starting in 1957 and then the last time he won it was in 1992.

You have to look right back to 1903 to find a trainer that has sent five winners at Newmarket in the July Cup, and that jockey was Charles Morton who won it in 1903 and 1904 and then again in 1912 and 1913 and finally in 1914.l

Vincent O’Brien has also match that five race winner record too and horses he trained won the July Cup in 1973, 1974, 1978, and 1979 and in 1990 too.