bet on the coronation cup

Coronation Cup

Some Group One races held in Great Britain are a true test of stamina rather than a mad dash type of race, and one that does spring to mind as certainly being best described as the former is the Coronation Cup.

That race is open to horses that are 4 years of age and above, and it is held over a course of some 1 miles 4 furlongs and 6 years, so jockeys do have plenty of time to settle their mounts and then stake their claim to the prize in the latter stages of the race, which is of course where the race can be won or lost.

As for just which racecourse the Coronation Cup is held each year, well it is around May and June the race is always scheduled to be run and it is over at the Epson racecourse that it is held each year.

Betting does often take place months in advance of this race being run with all of the leading bookies and sportsbooks offering a range of betting opportunities to punters via their ante post and futures betting markets on this race.

Past Winners of the Coronation Cup

As for the horses that have won this race most recently, well back in 2014 is was Cirrus des Aigles that got its head up in front and won and that day it was ridden by Christophe Soumillon. As for the winner of this race back in 2015 it was Panther’s Moon ridden by Pat Dobbs that won with a race time of 2:33.76.

The 2016 winner was Postponed ridden by Andrea Atzeni and trained by Roger Varian and in the 2017 and in 2018 the winners of this race were Highland Reel ridden and trained by Ryan Moore and Aidan O’Brien and then Cracksman ridden by Frankie Dettori and trained by John Gosden respectively that won each of those two races.

Coronation Cup Facts and Figures

Having been in existence since 1902, there are of course plenty of facts and figures relating to the Coronation Cup race I can pass onto you, however the most successful horse and the one that has managed to win it most often that house was St Nicholas Abbey who managed to win it three years on the trot between 2011 and 2013

You have to look back to Lester Piggot to find the jockey that has won the Coronation Cup the most time, for he managed to win it no fewer than nine times between the years 0f 1953 and then 1983!

As far as the one trainer that have managed to train the most winning horses in the Coronation Cup, that current honour goes to the high talented Aidan O’Brien and his winning tally at the time of compiling this guide stands at 8 winners of this race, and who knows he could yet go on to train many more of them in the coming years and most punters are of the mind that is exactly what he is going to do by the way!