King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes

I have put together a guide for each of the Group One races that are staged and held across the UK, and as such if you have an interest in horse racing and want to know all manner of unique facts and figures about those types of top class races, then make sure you read through as many of those guides as you can do.

This guide as you can probably already guess from its title is going to be giving you a deep insight and overview of the King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes Group One race that is an annual event and one that does attract plenty of interest from racing fans across the globe.

The race itself is always held at the Ascot racecourse, and it is in the month of July that the race will be staged too, and as for the past winners of that race and some interesting facts and stats, well please do keep on reading as those will be revealed to you in the sections below.

The King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes race is run over one mile, three furlongs and 211 years yards and it is a Group One race that is open to horses that are at least three years old.

Past Winners of the King George VI

You may want to get some understanding of the past winners of this race and if so I will now enlighten you on the horses that have won it over the last five years, and as such in 2014 it was Taghrooda ridden by Paul Hanagan that won,, then the following year in 2015 it was Postponed ridden by Andrea Atzeni that won this race with a recorded time of 2:31.25.

In 2016 it was Highland Reel ridden by the very experienced and very talented Ryan Moore that won then in 2017 it was Enable that won ridden by another top flight jockey that being no other than Frankie Dettori, and then in 2018 it was Poet’s Word ridden by James Doyle and trained by Michael Stoute that won with a time of 2:25.84.

King George VI Facts and Figures

Let me now give you an insight into some major tracks stats and facts, starting with the jockey that has won the race the most, that jockey was Lester Piggott and he has managed to win this race seven times throughout the years.

You will no doubt have heard of Sir Michael Stoute, well he is the top trainer in this race for he has trained up and got ready and has a total of six winners of this race starting with Shergar in 1981 and he most recent winner was in 2018 with Poet’s Word.

One other fact that may be of interest to you is the leading owner in this race, for that owner is no other than Michael Tabor who has owned six horses that have won this race.