Prince of Wales’s Stakes

Plenty of race meeting that are going to be held throughout the summer months in the UK, however when it comes to pulling in the crowds it is racecourse such as Ascot that can always be relied on to pack them in!

In fact, during June each year there are several major Group 1 races held at the Ascot racecourse and one of them that you may be interested to learn more about is the Prince of Wales’s Stakes.

As for a little bit of background information about that race, well it is held over a course measuring some one mile, one furlong and 212 years so the jockeys do have plenty of time to get themselves into hopefully a winning position as the race unfolds.

It is open to horses that are four years and over and it is a race that does attract a good field of runners each year, and some of the best flat jockeys in the land have their respective eyes on winning it too, which means it is a race worth watching and one that does get a huge amount of attention from punters too.

Past Winners of the Prince of Wales’s Stakes

The win odds and the time previous winners of this race won at and by do vary however the last five winners of this race include The Fugue who won it back in 2014 and that horse was ridden by William Buick that day, and the horse was owned by no other than Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber!

In 2015 is was Free Eagle ridden by Pat Smullen and trained by Dermot Weld that won this race and then the following year in 2016 it was My Dream Boat, and then in 2017    Highland Reel won this race and that day it was ridden by  Ryan Moore.

As for just which horse won in 2018, well that horse was Poet’s Word ridden that day by James Doyle, trained by Sir Michael Stoute and owned by Saeed Suhail.

Prince of Wales’s Stakes Facts and Figures

There have been just three horses that at some point in the past have managed to win the Prince of Wales’s Stakes twice, and those three horses were Connaught who won in 1969 and then again in 1970, Mtoto won in 1987 and also in 1988 and much more recently in 1994 and 1995 is was Muhtarram that won this race twice on the trot.

As for the jockey that has won this race in the past the most times, well is was Morny Cannon who is the current record holder and leading jockey for he managed to win this race a total of 6 times in total starting with Matchmaker way back in 1895 and the sixth time he won it he was riding Plum Centre in 1905.

You have to look back many, many years to find the trainer that had the best record of sending winners to this race and that was John Porter who trained Ossory which won in 1888and he has a total of eight wins in this race with the final horse he trained that won being Plum Centre who took the race back in 1905.